Louisiana Digital Consortium Spring 2020 Membership Meeting May 14, 2020

Location: Online Zoom Meeting Time: 10:00 am

Present: Carol Bartels (HNOC), Gina Costello (LSU), Jeff Rubin (Tulane), Debbie Johnson-Houston (McNeese), Lora Amsberryaugier(UNO) (minutes), Deb Poole (Loyola), Meg Placke (State Library of LA), Tim Stamm (Delgado), Caitlin Cooper (Delgado), Pati Threatt (McNeese), Scott Jordan (ULL), Miriam Childs (Law Library of LA), James Hodges (UNO), Sarah Mazur (LSUS), Elizabeth Kelly (Loyola), Michelle Riggs-Waller (LSUA), Chris Brown (Centenary), Shelley Masog (Webster Parish PL), Angela Proctor (SUBR), Andrew Olinik LSUHSC), Savannah. Jones (Webster Parish PL), Clifton Theriot (Nicholls), Annie Mahoney (Vermillionville LHFC), Nolan Eller (LaTech), Cyndy Robertson (Ouachita Parish PL), Aaron Webster (Calcasieu Parish PL) Special Guest: Erin Greenwald from LEH

Main Discussion

Presentation on KnowLA and request for a letter in support of LEH grant application.

Erin Greenwald presented information about the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities project, KnowLA. KnowLA is an online encyclopedia covering the history and culture of Louisiana. The encyclopedia is geared toward K-8th grade but has useful content for all levels of users.

Approval of past minutes

The membership approved the Spring 2019 and Fall 2019 membership meeting minutes with the following changes:

Spring 2019 minutes Clifton Theriot moved to approve. Sarah Mazur 2nd the motion. Motion passed

Fall 2019 minutes Correct institution of Anne Mahoney Vermillion Living History Museum and Folklife Park Fix 2nd-page typo Deb Pool moved to approve. Angela Proctor 2nd the motion. Motion passed.

Chair's Report

Treasurer's Report

Debbie Johnson-Houston reported that the consortium has an account balance of \$59,764.26. She sent invoices to two new members, Fletcher Technical Community College and Centenary College. Debbie will send the new FY budget to the membership. We will have a special meeting to approve the budget.

Committee Reports

Social Media

Anne Mahoney reported that the LDC facebook page has 112 likes and 4 unfollows. She did not have information on the LDC Twitter and Instagram accounts.

Steering Committee

Jeff Rubin reported that the committee has not met in the past year.

The committee needs a new chair. Jeff asked if the committee should hold off on meeting until they can meet in person or if they should meet virtually. Carol Bartels recommended that the committee meet online.

This is a good opportunity to encourage new LDC members and LDL admins to be a member of this committee.

Miriam Childs would like to meet this month.

Jeff will email the LDC listserv with the meeting date and time.

Scott Jordan asked who all expressed interest in being on the committee.

The following people are on or are interested in being on this committee:

Scott Jordan Miriam Childs James Hodges Jeff Rubin Kent Woynoski Patti Threatt

Review of bylaws Address typos on page 2 and 5 Tulane on page 2 Its to It's on page 5

Debbie Johnson-Houston motioned to approve the bylaws changes with the exception of #6 on page 13 which would have removed submission to LDL privileges if voting member or designee did not attend membership meetings. Gina Costello 2nd the motion. Voting members approved this motion.

The bylaws reviewed that the LDC no longer has its information on the Louisiana Digital Library. It used to have bylaws, minutes, and officers under the "About" link in the LDL, but it was removed. The members discussed the best route to take and agreed that the LDC should have a collection in the LDL.

The ad hoc bylaws committee will review this again and make a new proposal to the membership.

Election of Officers

Vice-Chair/Chair-elect - Scott Jordan - the University of Louisiana at Lafayette Treasurer - Andrew Olinik - LSU Health Sciences, New Orleans Member-at-Large - Melissa Eastin - East Baton Rouge Public Library

All the above positions ran unopposed. Clifton Theriot moved to elect these officers by acclamation. Tim Stamm 2nd the motion. The motion passed.

Secretary - Lora Amsberryaugier and Sarah Mazure were candidates for this position. The membership elected Lora Amsberryaugier.

New Member Application Newcomb College applied for membership and was approved.

Review of Membership Survey Chair, Carol Bartels, reported that 14 institutions responded to the Membership Survey. All indicated that they would be loading 1-2 collections in the upcoming year. Some institutions noted LDMA XDL IR Islandora

Something of interest noted by the membership is preservation training, The members are also interested in possible collaborative projects.

Carol recommended soliciting interest in the Collaboration Committee. This committee's charge will be to look for possible collaborative collections.

Action Items:

What	When	Who
Write a letter in support of the LEH receiving Cares Act grant funding for the KnowLA encyclopedia database.	Grant is due June 12	Carol Bartels
Call meeting of the Steering	This month	Jeff Rubin

Committee		
Review bylaws page 3 #6 for a new proposal to the LDC membership	TBD	Ad hoc bylaws committee Lora Amsberryaugier, Scott Jordan, Angela Proctor
Send FY21 budget to LDC membership	asap	Debbie Johnson-Houston
Set day and time for a special meeting to approve the FY21 budget	Мау	Carol Bartels

Meeting adjourned at 12:07 pm